What is Yoga?

Yoga is a discipline that has its focus on breath control, meditation, strengthening the body through specific bodily postures. The word ‘Yoga’ is Sanskrit and means ‘to join’. It is not a religion, but a way of living

What is the goal of Yoga
Yoga is widely practiced by men and women to gain a better health and experience a deeper relaxation in body and mind. People feel more balanced and in harmony with their body, mind and soul. It will take a lot of motivation and courage to get through the first stage. Slowly introduce your body to the slow movements and stretching of your muscles. You will notice your body will feel better and smoother after a while, even though it might hurt your muscles a bit in the beginning or you might think you will never be able to do those acrobatic yoga poses.

What kind of types of Yoga are there?
Too many! To give a few examples of the most common types of yoga:

  • Ashtanga Yoga
  • Hatha Yoga
  • Bikram Yoga
  • Iyengar Yoga
  • Kundalini Yoga
  • Power Yoga

What is the differences between these types of yoga?

Some types of Yoga are quite physically challenging, like Ashtanga Yoga. This type of yoga involves athletic poses which are performed in a non-stop motion. It will take many hours of daily practice! Others are more relaxed and easier types of yoga, like Iyengar Yoga. This yoga is good for beginners as they will teach you about the poses and principles. There are also special types of Yoga, like Kundalini Yoga, where singing and chanting is a part of the class. The goal of this chanting is to awaken the energy in your body.  Another example is Bikram Yoga which takes place in a heated room to 105 degrees. You will be doing 45 minutes of standing and floor poses. Sweating guaranteed! It’s up to you what suits you the best!